# Faculty Senate Annual Report 2007-2008

27 May 2008

Dean Saitta Professor, Anthropology Faculty Senate

## **Faculty Awards**:

The faculty awards subcommittee of the Personnel Committee recommended the following colleagues for their outstanding contributions to the research and teaching mission of the university. They will be honored at the 2008 Fall Convocation:

University Lecturer: <u>Jack Donnelly</u> (GSIS). **Distinguished Scholar**: <u>Micheline Ishay</u> (GSIS).

Distinguished Teacher: Susan Sadler (Biological Sciences).

United Methodist Church Scholar-Teacher of Year: <u>Danny McIntosh</u> (Psychology).

At the October 19, 2007 senate meeting a motion was made to rename the Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award the

### **Other Business**

At the September and October 2007 meetings the Senate discussed the new <u>University Mission</u> and <u>Goals</u> document produced by last year's <u>UPAC</u> (University Planning Advisory Council) process. A motion to approve the document carried 41 in favor, 4 opposed, no abstentions.

The November 16, 2007 Senate meeting featured an extensive discussion of the Research, Scholarship, and Creative Work Task Force Report. The minutes of the discussion can be found at <a href="http://www.du.edu/facsen/minutes.html">http://www.du.edu/facsen/minutes.html</a>. Other commentaries are at <a href="http://130.253.4.214/index.php/category/rscw-task-force-report/">http://130.253.4.214/index.php/category/rscw-task-force-report/</a>.

#### **Senate Initiatives**

In winter 2008 the Academic Planning Committee and the Personnel Committee began working with Web Designers in UTS to design and implement an updating of the **Research and Innovation** component of the DU web site. The motivation here is to better communicate and promote the research, scholarship, and creative work that is occurring on campus to the wider world. The web design work will continue into the 2008-09 academic year.

We continued exploring **Tuition Exchange** as a faculty and staff benefit that

At the discretion of the appropriate Dean, faculty with the rank of Lecturer or Senior Lecturer and faculty in the Library Professorial Series and Clinical Professorial Series (as defined in the Faculty Personnel Guidelines Relating to Appointment, Promotion and Tenure) with a minimum of six academic years full time and continuous service immediately preceding the sabbatical leave year at the University of Denver may be eligible for the program.

The Senate Personnel Committee reviewed and revised a draft **Faculty Grievance Policy** that our campus <u>AAUP</u> (American Association of University Professors) chapter generated in the summer of 2007. The senate president made a presentation to the academic deans in February 2008 explaining the rationale for the policy. The deans subsequently submitted written comments about the draft. A new draft (number 8 in what has been a year-long process of reading and critique) incorporating the deans comments has been produced by a subcommittee of the AAUP chapter. It will be returned to the deans for additional review before cycling back to the senate Personnel Committee. We hope to have ratification of this policy in fall 2008.

The Senate Student Relations Committee was active throughout the year working with undergraduate and graduate student leaders and Student Life representatives. Given some uncertainty about the services provided by the <u>University Writing and Research Center</u>, director Eliana Schonberg was invited to speak to the Senate on February 8. Committee concerns about academic advising and faculty accountability inspired Jo Calhoun, Associate Provost for Student Life, to prioritize a new advising survey. The committee worked with University Chaplain Gary Brower to consider some campus climate issues for graduate students, and also identified a number of challenges confronting diversity initiatives on campus. These challenges were presented at the Diversity Summit by committee chair Bonnie Clark.

In 2007-2008 the Senate sponsored a couple of academic events that we hope will become traditions. The **IDEA** 

there; for example, we'll use the fall 2008 Faculty Club to honor newly tenured and promoted faculty on campus. We're grateful to Provost Kvistad and Vice Provost Moran and their staffs for making the Faculty Clubs happen.

### **Priorities for 2008-09**

The new Senate president, Michael Levine-Clark (Penrose Library) assumes the duties on May 30, 2008. Some suggested priorities for next year include:

- Work with top administrators, deans, and chairs to develop new questions for the Administrator Evaluations.
- Finalize and ratify a Faculty Grievance Policy.
- Continue exploration of Tuition Exchange now that we know the cost of the benefit and something of the level of faculty/staff interest.
- Consider the issue of grade inflation.
- Adopt a resolution encouraging DU faculty to voluntarily comply with the <u>College</u> Textbook Law.

The Senate is always willing to entertain suggestions from faculty about other things that we can do.